Greatest Train Race Schools Competition Winning School Announced!

The Greatest Train Race committee launched a challenge to all schools to enter as many teams as possible in the popular event held 2 weekends ago.

It didn’t matter how big or small the school was, the winning school was determined by the school size versus entries principle, so everyone had an equal chance!

The winning school won 2 laptops sponsored by Firmlinx – Fast Reliable IT, a technology and communication company with branches in Witbank and Middelburg.

“Our vision is to create the ultimate value-added IT experience to our clients and ensure we are a valuable resource to our clients. We want to see our clients benefiting from their IT systems, systems that, with our input have become reliable, dependable and useful. We want to remove the frustration from owning and running IT systems by working closely with our customers to provide simple affordable solutions to their exact needs”, said Rudi Grundlingh owner of Firmlinx.

The lucky winning school of this great prize is HTS Middelburg. The school will be launching their own running club Rooies soon and young and old will be welcome to join the club.

“The response from the schools were amazing and it was a very close call with the entries, but as we all know there can only be one winner and we would like to thank each and every school that entered teams into the race, not only did they assist with raising funds for the less fortunate but they also showed great team spirit”, said Max Kohler, Train Race Chairperson.

The Train Race committee would like to thank all the schools that entered teams and Firmlinx for the Computer sponsorship.
15 000 runners take on the train for the 28th year!
On the 23rd of August 2014, The Rotary Greatest Train Race hosted the 28th year of the event and once again it proved to be one of the most enjoyable and well organised community projects.

The Greatest Train Race attracted 15 000 runners, some competing in a 5 man team relay, some walking 15km and the brave, taking on the 28km as individual runners.

For a second year in a row the Suzuki Team took first prize in the relay section, with a time of 1:25:42, the winning High school team was HTS Middelburg with a time of 1:42:41 and the winning primary school was Dennesig with a time of 1:59:46.

Johnson Mbwane from the Eskom Running club took first place in the Individual 28Km running event with a time of 1:44 while the first lady was Rita van Wyk from the Boksburg running club with a time of 2:25.

In the 15Km walking Edward Motsaathaba from NBC won with a time of 1:45:25 and Ria Potgieter walked away with the gold for the ladies.

“For 28 years the Greatest Train Race have been part of uplifting the local community, many charities have benefitted and will still benefit for many years to come from the money raised through this annual event. Through this event and the Rotary Clubs, children receive not only books, tables & chairs from all over the world for their schools, but also basic necessities”, said Max Kohler, Chairman of the Greatest Train Race.

“Because of the support from our Sponsors, Anglo American, GC Construction and Glencore, secondary sponsoring companies such as Coca-Cola Shanduka Beverages, Transnet, Bambanani Occupational Health, TRAC, RiseFM and Oasis as well as water point hosts, logistics volunteers and the participants in the race, we are able to make the race the success that it is and raise the money for this amazing community projects”, said Kohler.

All participants can now view and purchase their photos of the race on and the photos will be available on the website by Thursday the 4th of September. For more detail, mail

The Train Race has grown from strength to strength and will continue to grow in years to come, watch this space!